Callum Hudson-Odoi had his heart in his mouth during Chelsea’s goalless draw at Manchester United when referee Stuart Atwell was recommended to have another look at an incident involving the Blues ace.
The ball hit Hudson-Odoi on the hand inside his own box as he competed with Manchester United’s Mason Greenwood.
It wasn’t noticed at the time, but Atwell was told to look at the incident again on his pitchside monitor by VAR.
However, it wasn’t clear whether Greenwood had touched the ball with his arm before it hit Hudson-Odoi.
After much deliberation, Atwell decided to NOT give the Red Devils a penalty, much to Chelsea and Hudson-Odoi’s relief.
It may seem a let-off for Thomas Tuchel’s side, with Sky Sports pundit Gary Neville saying it ‘probably’ should have been a penalty for Man United.
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer was in no doubt that it should have been a penalty as he demonstrated with a linesman how the ball struck him.
Hudson-Odoi was substituted at half time having been pictured with a strap round his left leg. Reece James came on in his place.
Minus the Hudson-Odoi incident, the Stamford Bridge clash has been uneventful as both teams failed to find the scoresheet.
Man United were the more likely with Marcus Rashford’s free-kick beaten away by Edouard Mendy second before the Hudson-Odoi incident.
Olivier Giroud couldn’t quite get on the end of Hudson-Odoi’s searching cross just before the break, while Victor Lindelof did excellently to deny Timo Werner a certain goal late on.
Mendy was beaten by two second-half efforts from Greenwood and Fred but both whistled past either post.
from Football - news, transfers, fixtures, scores, pictures https://ift.tt/3bM3pgH
via IFTTT
No Comment